Dominican Republic, 1st Time President of The Parlacen

Santo Domingo, Oct 28. -The Dominican Republic has been elected new President of the Central American Parliament (PARLACEN) and is to assume office October 31st in ceremony to be held at the headquarter in Guatemala.Its member countries, in line with its Constitution, assume pro tempore leadership in alphabetic order. The Dominican Republic joined the organization as observer in 1996 and enjoys full membership from 2009.

Lawmaker Manolo Pichardo of Liberacion Dominicana Party was elected by consensus among the Dominican coalition in the Parlacen: the Partido Revolucionario Dominicano (PRD), the de la Liberacion Dominicana (PLD), the Social-Christian Reformist Party (PSCR) and their allies, to honor the rotation pact signed in 2010.

The Elections Commission is made up of Dominicans Miguel Oviedo (PDI) as Secretary and MP Santiago Rodriguez (PLD) plus Edme Arnaud (PRD) for Secretary; Gloria Anaya and Julio Cesar Grijalva (El Salvador); Vidal Flores and Tulio Mariano Gonzalez (Honduras); Lloy Buhey David and Octavio Alvarado (Nicaragua); Francisco Lopez and Arturo de la Cruz (Guatemala) and Luis Castilla and Pablo Perez (Panama).

The Parlacen Foundation Treaty was signed in 1987 and its members – Guatemala, El Salvador, Panama, Honduras and Nicaragua- held the first official session on October 28, 1991. (Prensa Latina)